Absorbed dose for the x-ray mirror at grazing incident angle and consider the photoelectric effect

Dear FLUKA experts,

I am new to FLUKA and I am trying to simulate energy deposition distribution.

I have a silicon mirror coated by B4C. The source is an X-ray free electron laser (XFEL) with an energy of 1 keV.
The penetration depth (or attenuation length) depends on the incident angle of the beam, and there is an equation to calculate the penetration depth and then the absorbed dose.

But according to this article:
“London, Richard A., et al. “Computational simulations of high-intensity x-ray matter interaction.” Optics for Fourth-Generation X-Ray Sources. Vol. 4500. SPIE, 2001.”,
At small grazing incident angles (like 9mrad), the penetration of the x-rays into the material is quite small. Because the energetic photoelectron produced by the absorbed X-rays would ballistically transport the absorbed energy over a significantly larger volume and into the surrounding material. It has been written that the only way to calculate this effect is using Monte Carlo simulations like Fluka and Penelope.
So now I want to calculate the absorbed energy ( Dose [eV/atom]) and plot it versus depth and incident angle. To find out under what conditions the mirror is damaged.

1. To calculate the absorbed dose[eV/atom], USRBIN with part: DOSE should be used?
  2. I can add mirror properties in OPT-PROP card with Type = “blank” for specific energy. Is it correct?
  3. In the interaction of photons with matter, when and how can I simulate and consider the photoelectric effect?
  4. With which option can I calculate energy deposition depth?

I really appreciate your help.

Good morning Marziyeh,