10eV neutron shielding

Dear experts,
I am studying the radiation shielding of a material against 10eV neutron. The running file is as follows.

2022.3.22(GZ)10eV.flair (3.2 KB)
2022.3.22(GZ)10eV.inp (2.6 KB)

When I got the running results, I found that many positions in the cloud map were blank without particles, and most of the points in the numerical results were also 0, with a very large statistical error.

What is the cause of this situation?
Is it because the neutron energy is too low?
How can I solve this problem to get an accurate simulation?

Dear @Junjie_Zhang,
You don’t have enough statistics. You need to run more primary to obtain a statistically relevant result.

Dear amario,

I’ve increased the number of particles by a factor of 10, The statistical error is still large.

2022.3.23(GZ)10eV.flair (3.3 KB)
2022.3.23(GZ)10eV.inp (2.7 KB)

When I increase the energy of the particle, the statistical error decreases. Is it because after low energy particles pass through the material shielding, only a few particles reach the detection area, while high energy neutrons have stronger penetration and more particles can reach the detection area?

In addition, can I reduce the number of detection intervals(bins) to reduce the statistical error?

Dear @Junjie_Zhang,

Let’s first recall that the statistical uncertainty is related to the number of simulated primaries N and that the uncertainty goes with \sqrt{N}. Therefore, increasing by 10 the number of primaries, will reduce the uncertainty by a factor \sqrt{10} \simeq 3.

Nevertheless, what is more important is that the energy of the neutrons is quite low and the shielding region GZHNT is quite thick: 101 cm. Therefore, there is a very limited amount of neutrons that reach your detection area R3.