Defining magnetic field map from tabulated .txt file

Hello everyone,

I am trying to define a magnetic field within a vacuum region “DIPOLE”, the magnetic field strength values associated with each x, y, z coordinate within this region is read from a tabulated .txt file containing (X,Y,Z,BTX,BTY, BTZ,B) variables where BTX,Y, and Z are the directional cosines of the magnetic field vector. Finding different scripts I improvised and have put together a subroutine to do this (I have little to no knowledge of FORTRAN77 and minimal experience with writing subroutines for FLUKA).

In my .flair project file I have included the “MGNFIELD” card, which is left empty, is supposed to automatically call my subroutine.

At the moment the subroutine compiles successfully and there are no error messages when running the code. Hence I have no idea why the subroutine is not working, it took me a long time to get to this point but as there are no error messages I am not sure how to continue.

I have attached a sample of the tabulated .txt file I would like to read with the subroutine.

Thank you for your help!
magfldroutine.f (4.3 KB)
dipolefield3.txt (2.9 MB)

Hi Arpad,

I would tend to discourage the adoption of an user routine for this task.
On the contrary, I would exploit the (relatively) novel approach based on the magnetic field cards.
You can see the manual: 7.22.47. MGNCREATe — FLUKA Manual
A more detailed explanation is also here: https://indico.cern.ch/event/1200922/contributions/5411821/attachments/2660679/4609170/06_Magnetic_electric_fields_2023_Advanced_ANL.pdf

Starting with your case, I see that you want to perform a linear search to locate the position in the magnetic file you attached. However, your user routine contains several bugs, and the overall effect is just to return 0 in any case.