Error during loading input

Dear Fluka Experts,

please excuse such a basic question. As part of my master’s thesis, I am supposed to simulate a radioactive source. Unfortunately, I am still a complete beginner and find it very difficult to get along with the simulation program (my Fluka version is: 3.1-15.1). Therefore I wanted to work through the files from the 2 week course from 2021 and load the 2 example files (example.inp and geometry-exercise-basic-editing.inp) to try something out. This is where the problem comes up: When I go to the “Input” tab to load in a .inp file, I get the error message:

"warning during loading: Error or warning messages appeared while loading input. Open the output window for more information.

In the output window then the error message is:
“>e> ERROR: Cannot open file ‘/home/…inp’ for reading”.

If I create an input myself, save it and later reload it, it works without problems (the sample files and my self-created files are in the same location and are both “.inp”).

Now I am afraid that I made a mistake during the installation or that later, when I finally have a good result for my master thesis, I might have big problems. Also, unfortunately I can’t practice on the sample files to understand the program better.

I would be very grateful if you can help me. Thank you very much in advance.

Dear @LePink ,

could you try to open the input files from the command line, with the command

flair example.inp

and let us know it it works this way?

Cheers,
David

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply.
I hope I understood it correctly. I typed in Ubuntu instead of “flair” as usual, this time “flair example.inp”. Unfortunately I got exactly the same error message as before.

Hi!

Is the example.inp file in the same directory from where you are running flair?

Cheers,
David

1 Like

Unfortunately, I am not quite sure.
Can you please tell me again how I can tell which directory I am running Flair in?