High purity germanium detector detection efficiency simulation

Hi everyone! I am a beginner. I want to simulate the detection efficiency of High purity germanium detector. According to the definition of high purity germanium detection efficiency, I need to count the pulses, but the EVENTBIN of FLUKA can only score the energy deposition in HPGe detector. How can I get the pulses of HPGe? Or is there any way that I don’t know to convert energy deposition into pulses?

Hello,

Each pulse that you read from your detector is caused by an energy deposition event (or, to be more precise, by energy deposition events that occur within a short time that the detector cannot resolve). A higher energy deposition leads to a higher amplitude pulse. Nevertheless, the scaling between deposited energy and signal amplitude, which depends on the particular detector, the gain of the electronics etc., is not needed in order to estimate the efficiency.

There are a few ways to go about this, depending on the level of detail you wish to include. Assuming a simple case in which you are studying the efficiency for different point or extended monoenergetic gamma sources, then using EVENTBIN would tell you what fraction of the gammas from the given source will deposit energy (and therefore generate a pulse) in the detector (and how much), which is the definition of the efficiency. You can also get the energy deposition spectrum with the DETECT card.

Keep in mind that, for HPGe detectors in particular, the efficiency is sensitive not only to the counting geometry and the gamma energy, but also to the window material and thickness, the internal distance between the window and the crystal which is not generally known, the exact crystal shape, the crystal dead layer etc.

It all boils down to the desired level of detail of your study, things can get as complicated as you want.

Best regards,
Andrea

Thank you for your answer! I just study a simple case. There is a confusion about your answer: