How a direct and a two-step scoring simulations give different output results?

Dear FLUKA experts,
I am studying the irradiation of a TISSUEIC target and recording the secondary emitted particles with the card DETECT.
I want to verify that makes no difference in terms of output DETECT spectrum using either a direct scoring (just DETECT) or a two-step scoring (1. photon, neutron, 4-He, 3-He, deuteron and triton features are saved in a phase space file thanks to the entry “bxdraw” of mgdraw routine; 2. These particles are emitted with the routine “source_newgen.f” and detected via DETECT).
The input file of the two simulations is just the same concerning beam characteristics and position, geometry, physics, thresholds and scoring (see attachment).
I normalized the data coming from the two-step scoring multiplying them by the ratio of total weight of particles scored by DETECT and the number of primaries in the first step simulation (using the mgdraw routine).

From the attached image “Graphical_results.jpg”, one can see that the peaks are well represented but there are regions around these peaks that show a lower background for the two-step approach. How is it possible? It seems that an additional background is missing. Is the problem related to the entry “bxdraw” and how I selected the region?

Thank you so much in advance.

Best regards,
Andrea

Direct scoring input and flair files:
Proton_200MeV_direct_scoring.flair (4.4 KB)

Proton_200MeV_direct_scoring.inp (4.3 KB)

Two-step scoring input, flair and compiled files:

1. First step (mgdraw.f)
    Proton_200MeVextraction_MGD.flair (4.6 KB)

Proton_200MeVextraction_MGD.inp (3.4 KB)

Ph_n_extraction_check.f (10.1 KB)

1. Second step (source_newgen.f)

Source of neutrons, 4-He, 3-He, deuterons, tritons:

Proton_200MeV_source_n.flair (5.1 KB)
Proton_200MeV_source_n.inp (2.1 KB)
Source_n_1.f (18.6 KB)

Source of photons:

Proton_200MeV_source_ph.flair (5.2 KB)
Proton_200MeV_source_ph.inp (2.1 KB)
Source_ph_1.f (18.6 KB)