Iodine isotope source

Hello FLUKA experts,
I’m new to FLUKA and I’m trying to simulate a radioiodine therapy chamber to verify the effectiveness of shielding. However, I encountered some issues with dose calculation and plotting. I’m not sure if the USRBIN card is correctly written or not. If you have any comments or suggestions, please feel free to help me.
Thank you!
room.flair (4.2 KB)
room.inp (2.9 KB)

Dear Hayat,
the USRBIN card is set correctly and you can use it with the plotting approach you have implemented, if proper normalisation factors will be used (please see for details https://indico.cern.ch/event/656336/contributions/2729627/attachments/1552510/2439699/Scoring.pdf), my only suggestion that you should use higher resolution (NX, NY, NY numers in the range of several hundreds) to have meaningful output.

However, please pay attention, that you have major geometry errors in your project (please set actual void1-2 and shielding dimension and position).
Also, you have partially implemented activation evaluation (with relevant physics), which probably is not really necessary for 6MeV electrons source (please review), and partially implemented various scoring cards and plotting.

Please set actual geometry of your setup, and ask for additional assistence for physics setting if it is relevant for you and you still face issues with your model.

Kind regards,
Illia

Hi fluka experts,
I’m attempting to simulate a radioactive source of iodine-131 emitting beta and gamma radiation. Could you assist me in selecting the appropriate physics settings?
Desintegration β-
Emax = 606 keV (89 %)
Emax = 333 keV (7 %)
Emission γ
E = 364 keV (81 %)
E = 637 keV (7 %)
E = 284 keV (6 %)

Dear Hayat,

I may suggest two ways to evaluate effects of Iodine-131 radiation in FLUKA.