Number of optical photons

Hi fluka experts,
I actually want to calculate the number of optical photons reaching pmt when the primary is photon with the eventbin card, but when the pmt thickness is very small (that is, in reality and experience), the number of optical photons is very, very small. It does not seem right and logical. Can you guide me where the problem comes from? Why does the change in pmt thickness affect the number of these photons so much?

Hi Hassan,

I’m new to FLUKA though, PMTs I’ve working a bit, so just curious about what you mean about thickness of PMT. When I do photon collection efficiency simulations, I consider the photons that collide with the face of scintillator that interfaces the PMT, to be collected (with some predefined probability, taking into account size of the photocathode and other losses though), when they hit the surface of the scintillator interfacing the PMT.

So, the problem usually boils down for me to basically calculate the probability of a photon generated anywhere in the bulk of the scintillator to hit the face interfacing the PMT.

So, for me it is the thickness of the scintillator that should matter. Pls elaborate.

1 Like

Hi
I mean the thickness of pmt is the length of a cylinder defined as pmt and placed in the mouth of another cylinder that is scintillator. Normally, the length of this pmt cylinder should not have much effect on the number of photons that reach its level, but unfortunately this happens when I use the eventbin card, can you Send me an example in this case? My goal is to calculate the number of opticalphotons that reach pmt level in the event.

How can I connect with you?
My telegram number is 09035622308 if you can

Hi,