SCORE and USRBIN

Hi everybody,

I’m an absolute beginner in FLUKA . I have to simulate a quite simple situation: a bunch of MeV électrons directed onto a small glass vial, filled with water (TARGET). I want to estimate the dose delivered to the TARGET.
Now, I’ve seen that SCORE allows to simply get the data I need but there is something I don’t understand

1. SCORE data are produced for every cycle: do I need to average them?
  2. Energy Density is given in GeV/cm3 for primary particle and for a region volume of 1 cm3–> So to get the real dose in Gy I just have to
    multiply the obtained value * Target volume (cm3) * Target Density (g/cm3) * 1.6E-7* Primary particles number. Is it correct?

The other point of my question concerns using USRBIN to the same extent, using the Type: REGION. 1) What is the right way to plot the energy density for all the régions?
2) Putting the same normalization value I use for SCORE, I should find the same delivered dose value, isn’t it?

Many thanks in advance for your help :slight_smile:

Tibe

1 Like

Hello Tibe,

Quick reply to your many questions in one :slight_smile:

1. Off the top of my head I am not sure there’s a precooked way to merge
    SCORE outputs from various cycle .out files (more savvy flukers may want
    to correct; I use this card only seldom). With a bit of patience, a minimal
    script should do the trick.

2. If you are thinking of the output of a USRBIN scoring energy deposition on
    e.g. a Cartesian grid, then yes, energy deposition is originally given in GeV/cm3/primary.
    However, I think in your proposed conversion factor the dimensions are off.
    On paper, starting with energy deposition in GeV/cm3/primary you divide
    by the density (in g/cm3) in order to get units of dose in GeV/g/primary. You can
    score dose with another USRBIN and crosscheck that the conversion is OK.
    Either way, to get dose in Gy, a further multiplication by 1.602176462E-7 is
    needed.