Unexpected normalized dose reduction values of polyethylene shield from DOSE USRBIN

Dear FLUKA experts,

I am using FLUKA/flair to assess the dose reduction of different material (composites). I am a beginner and for that reason start doing simple shield simulations to get acquainted with the software.

One of these simple simulations is to assess the dose reduction of a polyethylene shield with varying thickness and different particle beams at varying energies. Moreover:

• The thicknesses of the shield are 20 cm and (more extremely) 100 and 200 cm, this is just to see what kind of results are produced
  • The DOSE and DOSEQLET of a water phantom directly behind the beam is used to calculate the dose reduction
  • To calculate the dose reduction, one situation without a shield is simulated as well
  • The distance between the radiation beam and water phantom for all situations is the same (i.e. 225 cm)

The four different situations are depicted below. Situation A: no shield, Situation B: 20 cm shield, Situation C: 100 cm shield, Situation D: 200 cm.

There are two matters I came across I wanted to discuss.

First, the resulting dose reductions from the DOSE USRBIN were quite unexpected for high energies. At 1 GeV for proton particles the dose reduction is:

• -21%, 1% and 54% (for 20 cm, 100 cm and 200 cm respectively)

At 10 GeV for proton particles the dose reduction is:

• -75%, -274% and -282% (for 20 cm, 100 cm and 200 cm respectively)

At 1 GeV for neutron particles the dose reduction is:

• -75%, -111% and -22% (for 20 cm, 100 cm and 200 cm respectively)