Example using Flair

Hello,
I am new in FLAIR and I tried to follow the tutorial in the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SjhDqIo5cvk&t=26s
Unfortunatelly, it says that it finished with errors. The same happened when I followed the instructions from http://flair.web.cern.ch/flair/tutorial_fluka.html
Any suggestions why this happens?
Thank you very much in advance.
Best regards,
Pinelopi

Hi @pchristo,

There is any number of issues that can cause a run to “finish with errors”. You will need to provide more details and the specific input file that you are trying to run.

In the meantime, if you are simply loading the “basic” input in Flair without changing anything in the input file, the run is launched by default with 200GeV protons and 5000 primaries per cycle. It may be that this takes too long on your machine. Does the run stop (almost) immediately or after having run for some time?

1 Like

Could you please post your .flair (and .inp) files

1 Like

Hello, thank you for the quick response. Yes it stops (almost) immediately. I will post my flair and inp files
tutorial.flair (857 Bytes) tutorial.inp (893 Bytes) tutorial.out (542 Bytes)

OK, the input file is fine, in fact it is exactly the “basic” input without any change. The problem therefore seems to be related to your installation.

1. Can you confirm what is your FLUKA installation directory? Is it /mnt/c/WSL/file/fluka2011-3.0/?
  2. Can you send us the output of the following command: echo $PATH ? Just run it in the Linux terminal (you don’t need to be in any particular directory when you do this).

Hi Pinelopi,

The error code 127 suggests a file permission error.

In which directory are you trying to run?
Please, post the result of the command: pwd, in that folder.

Cheers,
David

Hello,

1. Yes that is the path were the FLUKA is installed.

It seems like the relevant FLUKA entry is not in the PATH. Please do the following:

Go to your home directory: cd ~
Open the .bashrc file: less .bashrc